Never Give Up

No matter if you’re a writer, an athlete, a politician, a dancer, anyone, there are times when life just wants to squash you like a tiny bug. The easiest thing to do is crawl under the blankets and hid until it gets better. Here’s the thing, if you do that, then you’re not going to reach your full potential. So here’s my pep talk for the night (I came up with this listening to Fall Out Boy.)
Light 'em up

I’m a very impatient person. I want things done now, I want to see results right away. In writing that is not a virtue. Writing itself is wonderful. As your story grows you watch it develop. Seeing the word count go up 1K by 1K feels amazing. It’s like you’re accomplishing your life goals. Editing for me is great as well. That’s when I see this blob of a story take a true form. Then there comes querying. You spend hours researching agents and you find a few where you say, “Oh hey, I think you’d love my MS.” So you get yourself all ready, kiss your lucky turtle, and send off your manuscript. Then you wait and wait. Sometimes you hear back and it’s a form rejection letter, sometimes you don’t hear at all. You want to quit. You think that you’ve failed as a writer. Here’s the thing, if you do then the agent who is going to love your MS will never see it. ALL IT TAKES IS ONE YES!
Yes to all
No I have not gotten that yes yet. I got close with Guardian. But since then I haven’t even had a full request. I’ve gotten some helpful feedback and am trying to rework a big arc in GOTA. When it’s done then I’ll think about querying it again. But until then I’m beginning to send out ELEMENTAL. I haven’t heard anything back yet, but I just started on Sunday.

There are other things going on in my life besides writing that I’m determined to see through. As a recent college graduate in the environmental field, I’ve been having a tough time finding full employment. It’s been stressful, but I can’t give up. If I do I’m stuck working at a bakery until I grow old. Most people tell me I have an impressive resume with all the part time environmental education work I’ve been doing. I finally decided to look at teaching and had a school ask me to get my certification in High School Biology. So at the moment, I’m sitting next to 400 flashcards and trying to relearn high school biology. My exam is next Tuesday. I don’t know if I’m ready, but I will be by then. I plan on acing it.

Then there’s fitness. I’m an active person. I was a collegiate athlete and as a naturalist I’m always on my feet. So this summer when I pinched a nerve in my back, I didn’t know what to do. There was a shooting pain that ran down my right leg. My foot and calf felt like they were asleep for weeks. I couldn’t drive five minutes without crying from pain. Slowly it got better. Now that I have no pain, I’m able to go back to working out. Here’s the thing, I’m weak. I don’t have the stamina I used to, nor do I have the muscle.

I just have to tell myself, “one more, one more.” Each day I add a bit to my workout. It’s slow going, I still can’t do much with my legs. I know that will come. If I just collapse on the gym floor I’m not going to get better.

So here’s my proclamation. I’m making it public so that I keep it. On November 8th, I turn 25. That’s in a month and a half. The day before is my cousin’s wedding. When I take that flight down to DC, I plan to have passed my MTEL and secured some sort of teaching job, be in better shape than I was before I became injured and get an agent interested in ELEMENTAL. Now the agent thing I know might not come by then. But if I get some interested, then I’ll consider it a success.

You guys should do the same. Again, no matter what you want in life, don’t give up on it. Work until your dreams come true.

Leave a Reply

